Is the use of PowerPoint in lessons misguided?

8 thoughts on “Is the use of PowerPoint in lessons misguided?”

  1. Very useful, clear and practical post. Just a few pointers — not about your argument — about two things you do visually.
    There is no need to add the black border to your white boxes. The contrast in colour between the white box and the brown background is sufficient. Adding the border adds an unnecessary element that adds to a degree of overload. In this instance, to be fair, it’s not much. But in many teachers’ use of Word, you can see box after box with strong black borders. In terms of the signal-to-noise ratio, this obscures the main message.
    Also you have underlined one word. Underlining is something that dates from the typewriter. It serves no useful purpose now we can make a word stand out by making it bolder or italic. Underlining will cut the descender and this will make the word harder to read — the very opposite result than intended.
    Hope you don’t mind these little pointers. Otherwise, your restraint in the design of the slides is admirable.

    1. Very interesting – thanks Oliver. This is all duly noted. I think I saw you mention writing/producing something on this – I look forward to it. (Although the underlined word is just because it is a hyperlink to Jo Facer’s post, so I have no control over that!)

    1. Actually, my blog doesn’t say that ‘you should use PowerPoint’. It rebuts the argument that you shouldn’t use it, that’s all. I’d appreciate appreciate it if your commentary could reflect my position a little more accurately. Many thanks.

  2. Your main argument seems to be that PowerPoint is a tool that can be used poorly or well. If you focused in on this by showing examples of good and bad practice this would be more useful. This seems to be walking that irritating line saying there is nothing wrong with an appropriately used PowerPoint so why complain. But we now that the reason people have issues with PowerPoints is because they are often poorly used. I think you have only pointed out the obvious here, however if your aim is to improve the use of PowerPoint I don’t think this does a great job.

    Keep the blog going by the way I love your stories. I even get my colleagues to read them without them realising I am steering them towards evidence based teaching.

    1. Actually, my aim was merely to rebut the arguments made in the link in the first slide. My aim isn’t to improve the use of PowerPoint, merely that the arguments against it aren’t very strong. I’m happy to accept an argument against PowerPoint, should someone present a particularly persuasive one.

Leave a Reply

