Want to share knowledge organisers?

One of the many powerful things to come out of the brilliant team at the Michaela Community School in North London is the use of knowledge organisers to specify what core knowledge is to be taught in a scheme of work. If you don’t know what these are, before you go any further you should read MCS Assistant Head Joe Kirby‘s blogpost explaining why and how they use them:

Knowledge Organisers

Brilliant, eh? I recently nicked this idea from the MCS crew and shared one of these for one of the texts on the new English GCSE (Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde) and it got a lot of interest. In fact, pretty soon a lot of people were sharing their knowledge organisers for other texts on the new GCSE and there was talk of collecting them somewhere.

Knowledge organisers are used across all subjects at MCS, so rather than just collecting them for English, I thought it may be more of a useful resource for all subjects to share them in one place. These can then be downloaded and adapted for your needs if required (for example, someone might choose to add ‘Freudian psychoanalysis’ in the context section for the Jekyll and Hyde knowledge organiser I uploaded).

With all this in mind, and with Joe’s blessing, I’ve set up a shared folder in Google Drive so that anyone can add their own or download an existing one.

I’ve just added a few subjects to begin with – feel free to add a new folder if you are uploading a knowledge organiser for your subject and there isn’t a folder already there.

Thanks to Nick Wells, Brittany Wright and Bryn Davis who have been incredibly quick off the block in adding their knowledge organisers for English texts.

Please get involved – this could be a great resource across all subjects.

NOTE: Please don’t delete or move the folders or documents to somewhere else on your Google Drive – you are working with a a shared folder, so if you delete/move anything, you are moving them for everyone else. Just download any you need. You can then upload them again to your own Drive folders if necessary.

Thanks in advance!

Unfortunately, the knowledge organisers folder is no longer available. I was hoping that this would be an easy and accessible resource but, despite putting PLEASE READ notices everywhere I could, people are still accessing the drive without care and consideration and deleting them for everyone else. Since May 2015, I’ve had to regularly spend time retrieving files but, as a full time teacher, this is hugely time consuming and I can no longer continue to do this. If somebody else would like to set up a similar system and manage it, please do.

41 thoughts on “Want to share knowledge organisers?”

  1. Hi James, In trying to get my head round the new specs I have done a couple of Knowledge Organisers for the new AQA GCSEs, one for Lang, one for Lit, they’re not about a text but they are exam knowledge, so do they fit?! Am using them to plan backwards for KS3 and as handy ref for us teachers / students. Let me know if you want them in the Google Drive or not. I don’t want to muddy the waters! Stephanie

  2. Hi James,

    Thanks very much for this excellent resource. I will share with the English department and hopefully add some of our own. When I viewed, I was invited by Google to “Add to My Drive” – I really hope this hasn’t moved the folder and messed up things for you? Please let me know if so.

    I was also going to share with other colleagues at school if that’s OK with you?

    Thanks again,

    Jon

  3. Hi Jon,

    Glad it’s of help and I look forward to your contributions. It’s okay to add to your Drive, you are just accessing that shared folder from your Drive now. You just have to ensure that you don’t move anything around from the folder in your Drive. As long as you are only downloading them or uploading to it, everything’s hunky dory!

    James

    1. Hi James,

      Phew! I thought that was the case, but just wanted to make sure. I’m still scarred by my Google Docs faux pas of the past!

      Thanks again,

      Jon

  4. there seems to be only the English folder in there now, though a couple of days ago, there were folders for different subjects. Do you know where they might be? They are so useful. developing some English ones to add on Romeo and Juliet.

    1. Thanks for letting me know. I’ve restored it all again now. This has happened a few times – people don’t read the file that says PLEASE READ which warns people about moving things as it is a shared drive.

  5. Hi James,

    Thanks for sharing such a great resource and sorry for causing troubles. Was it a duplication error problem or something from a while back? Thought it might be best to remove the shared folder from my drive until you get back to me.

    Thanks again,

    Stefan

    1. Hi Stefan. All sorted now – somehow you’d managed to duplicate each folder about 5 or 6 times and there were some things moved into one or two of the folders. The best thing to do is to download any that you want and then upload to your own drive if you want to move them around. Thanks for contributing though!

  6. Hi there. I have followed the link to the Google drive to view the knowledge organisers to find nothing there. Are you able to restore this or has it been moved to somewhere else? Thanks

    1. Hi, as far as I can see it is all set up so that anyone following the link can access and edit the drive. I will take a look later if you still can’t access them.

  7. This is absolutely brilliant – thank you. We are doing OCR and am currently doing KOs for that spec. Will upload to folder when complete. Thanks again.

  8. Does anyone have any science ones? I know the google drive has been hard to maintain but would love to give them a go in my lessons next term! 🙂

Leave a comment